I am fairly new to WebFocus using the text editor for coding. I have finally come around to generally understanding it. However, I have what should be a simple question about styling. See Below:

Sean Kiss

Some of the code I have inherited grabs the data and then uses syntax below to do the report build.

TYPE=FOOTING,

STYLE=BOLD,

SIZE=8,

$

TYPE=TABFOOTING,

STYLE=BOLD,

SIZE=8,

$

TYPE=DATA, COLUMN={column name},

JUSTIFY=LEFT,

{Conditional function to hide column here would be ideal},

$

TYPE=DATA, COLUMN={column name}, WHEN={qualification},

BACKCOLOR=RGB(239 239 239),

JUSTIFY=CENTER,

STYLE=ITALIC+BOLD,

$

If I want to hide a column it appears I have to do it before I get to styling for the report. I would like to do it here since so many different variants of the data are used for multiple reports.

Presently, I am doing it in the Table build via the NOPRINT based on the type of view I want to create.

If I could do it at the end during styling, I could keep the code more centralized.

Thank You

Maybe something like this using the SQUEEZE option.

TABLE FILE CAR SUM RCOST DCOST BY COUNTRY BY CAR ON TABLE SET PAGE NOLEAD ON TABLE SET GRID OFF ON TABLE SET STYLE * TYPE=REPORT, BORDER=0,$ TYPE=REPORT, COLUMN=COUNTRY, SQUEEZE=0,$ TYPE=TITLE, BACKCOLOR=RGB(240 240 240), $ ENDSTYLE END

The output looks like this, the COUNTRY column has "disappeared" or more accurately was squeezed to zero width.

image.png.3fad45f9e2ae58452c27b3e20c24c053.png

This looks like a good option, and I will test. My only initial question ( which I will research during testing ) is if the resulting report if exported to xlsx would have an empty existing column or potentially a column that is not transmitted. (Ex: If I SQUEEZE columns 3,5,6 in a 10-column report; would the xlsx report come up with columns A, B, E, F,G,H,I,J populated or A,B,C,D,E,F,G. It may not matter to the end user.