Im new with WebFocus, and having trouble getting my head ar...

David McKinney

Im new with WebFocus, and having trouble getting my head around certain things. For what its worth, we are on version 8.2.0.4 GEN 48

When I try to join these 3 tables with INNER JOINs, I can only get MYID from MYMAIN, and the other two give me nothing. To be clear, I get rows output as my result, with an id in MYMAIN.MYID, but nothing in the other 2 MYID fields. Plus the value of the Compute_1 field is different. Coming from a SQL background, I dont see how this can be so. For info, HTABLE1R and HTABLE2R are HOLD files.

I cant send you all the code as its on an internal isolated network.

Any clues or hints Thanks!

JOIN INNER MYID IN MYMAIN TO UNIQUE MYID IN HTABLE1R TAG H1 AS J1

JOIN INNER MYID IN MYMAIN TO UNIQUE MYID IN HTABLE2R TAG H2 AS J2

END

TABLE FILE MYMAIN

SUM COMPUTE Compute_1/A20=IF MYMAIN.MYID EQ H1.MYID THEN same ELSE different ;

BY MYMAIN.MYID

BY H1.MYID

BY H2.MYID

-RUN

Hi David

Welcome to myibi Make sure the formats of the MYID fields match. You can put this command at the bottom of the report FF and when you run the report do a view page source ans scroll to the bottom and it will display the field formats. Or if you have master files for the hold files you can look there as well.

Hi Chuck.

Thanks for the welcome, and for the tip regarding FF. The 3 fields in question are all A6.

As Im talking about inner joins here, I would never expect to see different. Either there is a mismatch in the join, in which case the row is excluded, or there is a match, in which case the join field is by definition the same on both sides.

I ran the report with a SQL trace. I had errors relating to the DB Engine not supporting RANKing functions (which I was using in my HOLD files). So I removed any such functions.