I'm relatively new to WF, so any help would be appreciated. How do you create a selectable parameter that determines what will be shown on a report?

thanh huynh
Go to solution Solved by David Beagan ,

The report I'm working on has 3 measures (sales$, cases, weights). But instead of showing a column for each measure, I want the user to select a measure from a drop down menu. And based on that selection, the appropriate measure will be displayed in the report.

Hello @thanh huynh​ 

I noticed your question this evening and it seems you have received no responses yet.

Here is an example using the legacy sample CAR file that contains the measures: SALES, DEALER_COST, RETAIL_COST

TABLE FILE CARSUM&MEASURE.(<Sales,SALES>,<Dealer Cost,DEALER_COST>,<Retail Cost,RETAIL_COST>).Select Measure.BY COUNTRYBY CARON TABLE PCHOLD FORMAT HTMLON TABLE SET HTMLCSS ONON TABLE SET STYLE *UNITS=IN, SQUEEZE=ON, ORIENTATION=PORTRAIT,$TYPE=REPORT, GRID=OFF, FONT='ARIAL', SIZE=9,$TYPE=TITLE, STYLE=BOLD,$ENDSTYLEEND

Simply replace the options for the measures in my example with the measures you noted above.

i.e. &MEASURE.(<Sales,sales$>,<Cases,cases>,<Weights,weights>).Select Measure.

Note the parameter value pairs represent the value you want to prompt the user for followed by the value you want to pass back into your WebFOCUS Report/Graph request, that is prompt for "Sales" and pass "sales$" into the parameter &MEASURE.

These 2 solutions seem to work to return 1 column of data, but how would you do this for multiple sales, cases, or weight columns?

Say there are 2 sales columns, 2 cases columns, and 2 weight columns. How could the report display both Sales columns if the parameter selected was 'Sales'.

Hi David,

I see what the 'AND' is doing, but I don't think it's correct for what I'm looking for.

Hopefully, I can explain it a bit better this time around.

Say these are the fields I'm working with:

Sales1

Sales2

Cases1

Cases2

Weight1

Weight2